26 nov 2014

EU Strategy Baltic Sea Region

The aim of the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR), adopted during the Swedish EU Presidency in 2009, is to address the common challenges that countries in the Baltic region faces today. The eight countries included in the strategy are apart from Sweden, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Lithuania, Poland and Latvia. The strategy is also cooperating with other countries in the region such as Russia and Norway.

The strategy has three overall aims: save the sea, connect the region and increase prosperity. The work takes place in so-called Priority Areas (PA). In total there are 17 Priority Areas, one of them being PA Education supporting the aims of increased prosperity. Aims and Priority Areas are described in an Action Plan. It also describes the development processes named flagships that are the main tools for intervention.

There are no dedicated funds set aside for the EUSBSR. Instead the flagships consists of one or more projects, which in turn is funded by various programs; EU, national, regional or local. Examples of funds are the Structural Funds, Erasmus + and Horizon 2020. Each Priority Area is led by a Priority Area Coordinator (PAC). The Norden Association is PAC for PA Education, together with the Land of Hamburg. Priority Area Coordinators are leading its Priority Area and follow-up against targets and indicators in the Action Plan, initiate new flagships and act as a bridge between projects and policies.

Learn more about PA Education here.

Read more about the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region here.


Aktuellt hos Föreningen Norden